direkt zum Inhalt springen

direkt zum Hauptnavigationsmenü

Sie sind hier

TU Berlin

Page Content

Prof. Dr. Matthias Driess


curriculum vitae

Matthias Driess was born 1961 in Eisenach, Thuringia. He received his diploma in chemistry in  1985 and recieved his PhD 1988 at the Ruprecht-Karls Universität Heidelberg. In addition he studied philosophy  in Heidelberg and graduated with the thesis "Über den logischen Empirismus von Rudolf Carnap und die Einheit der Wissenschaften" (transl: About the logical empirism of Rudolf Carnap and the unity of the sciences). After working as a postdoctoral fellow with Professor Robert West in Madison, Wisconsin, U.S.A., for a year, he returned to Heidelberg in 1989 and finished his habilitation in inorganic chemistry in 1993 with a thesis about silicon and phosphorus in unusal coordination. After three more intellectually stimulating years in Heidelberg he was appointed professor for inorganic chemistry at the Ruhruniversität Bochum in 1996. In 2004 he moved to Technische Universität Berlin, where he holds a chair in organometallic chemistry and inorganic materials at the department of chemistry. He served from 2007-2018 as spokesperson of the Cluster of Excellence UniCat. Since 2019 he is deputy speaker of the new Cluster of Excellence “Unifying systems in Catalysis, UniSysCat”. Since 2012 he is a member of the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina. Since 2014 he is an Ordinary Member of the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities. Since 2020 he is a member of the European Academy of Sciences.  You can find his author profile for Angewandte Chemie here.

Scientific focus

  • Synthesis of novel molecular functions based on compounds with heavier main group elements (e.g. silicion and phosphorus chemistry)
  • Organometallic chemistry yielding molecular models for heterogeneous catalysis (e.g. metal oxides), electron-transfer-complexes and the synthesis of molecular single source precursors for nanostructured inorganic materials
  • Lecturer scholarship of the Fonds der Chemischen Industrie (1996)
  • Chemistry Award of the  Akademie der Wissenschaften zu Göttingen (1997)
  • Otto-Klung-Award  for Chemistry (2000)
  • Alfred-Stock-Memorial-Award of the Gesellschaft Deutscher Chemiker  (2010)
  • Wacker Silicone Award (2011)
  • Member of the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina (2012)
  • Member of the European Academy of Sciences (2020)

Zusatzinformationen / Extras

Quick Access:

Schnellnavigation zur Seite über Nummerneingabe

This site uses Matomo for anonymized webanalysis. Visit Data Privacy for more information and opt-out options.


Andrea Rahmel
of Chemistry
Building C
C 268
Straße des 17.Juni 115
10623 Berlin
+49 (0)30/314-29731

Mail Address

Technische Universitaet Berlin
of Chemistry
Strasse des 17.Juni 135
10623 Berlin

Visitor Adress

Prof. Dr. Matthias Driess
Organometallic chemistry & inorganic materials
of Chemistry
Building C
C 266
Strasse des 17.Juni 115
10623 Berlin